Reading to the second session of the White House Council on Native American Affairs


Home Secretary Deb Haaland and Home Affairs Advisor Susan Rice convened the second session of the White House Council on Native American Affairs (WHCNAA) today. They were joined by eleven cabinet secretaries and senior administrators in a discussion that focused on strengthening relations between governments and promoting self-determination and self-governance among tribal peoples. During the meeting, the Home Affairs Council, the White House Implementation Team, and the Home Office pledged to lead an interagency process to support tribal states’ use of the historic infusion of federal funds for the needs of the tribes. The WHCNAA health committee also announced that it will host a nation-to-nation dialogue this fall on COVID-19 and improving health systems in the Indian country. This will be an opportunity for tribal work with the administration leadership on federal emergency management programs and resources and to share the latest data. On the basis of this dialogue, the health committee will develop a work plan to strengthen the federal emergency measures across all authorities.

The council will continue to coordinate with tribal peoples in advancing work on key issues such as climate change, tribal homeland and treaties; economic development, energy and infrastructure; health; Training; public security and justice; and international indigenous issues.

Members of the Council on Native American Affairs include:

  • Home Office
  • Home Affairs Council
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Ministry of Economy
  • Ministry of Defense
  • Ministry of Education
  • Energy authority
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Ministry of Justice
  • Labor department
  • Office for Administration and Budget
  • Personnel Management Office
  • Office for Administration and Budget
  • Small business administration
  • Social Security Administration
  • Foreign Ministry
  • Ministry of Transport
  • Ministry of Treasury
  • Veterans Affairs Department
  • US Ambassador to the United Nations
  • U.S. Trade Representative
  • Advisory Board for Monument Preservation
  • Denali Commission
  • Gender Policy Council
  • Science and Technology Policy Office
  • National climate advisor
  • Intergovernmental Affairs Office
  • Environmental Quality Council
  • White House Cabinet Affairs
  • White House COVID Response Team



Leave A Reply